Connect with us

National Music

Battles announce new album ‘Juice B Crypts,’ share new single



The band Battles are kind of difficult to fully categorize. Their blending of sort of math rock musicianship with art rock and punk tendencies combine into something that you just sort of have to hear to understand. Across three albums now, the band have been cleverly twisting themselves into fresh soundscapes, always allowing in new listeners while never truly leaning away from what made them special. And now they’re ready to take on even more change with their upcoming fourth studio album Juice B Crypts.

Juice B Crypts will see the band embracing their newfound setup as a duo (Ian Williams and John Stanier). Their guitarist, Dave Konopka, left the group last year. But while that change up could hinder the band’s sound, it’s clear they’re taking this as a chance to let loose even more. And it turns out, they still pretty much sound like Battles.

Lead-off single “Titanium 2 Step” both hints at what’s in store on Juice B Crypts, while also reassuring everyone that they’re still committed to their singular vision. The busy nature of the band’s core sound remains firmly intact throughout the track even when it shows the shades of a new edge. There are also some added vocals from Sal Principato (Liquid Liquid) who mostly yelps around in the background. And the whole of it all crafts an atmosphere that appears as if its teetering on the edge of collapse. So again, it’s basically Battles as we know them, just slightly tweaked.

The rest of Juice B Crypts features tons of guest musicians and vocalists, who are sure to be utilized in ways you won’t expect. To check out tracklist complete with all the features, as well as the album art, just scroll down below. But before you do, give a listen to “Titanium 2 Step” directly below here.

01 Ambulance
02 A Loop So Nice…
03 They Played It Twice (Feat. Xenia Rubinos)
04 Sugar Foot (Feat. Jon Anderson & Prairie WWWW)
05 Fort Greene Park
06 Titanium 2 Step (Feat. Sal Principato)
07 Hiro 3
08 IZM (Feat. Shabazz Palaces)
09 Juice B Crypts
10 Last Supper On Shasta Pt. 1 (Feat. Tune-Yards)
11 Last Supper On Shasta Pt. 2 (Feat. Tune-Yards)


Juice B Crypts is out October 18 via Warp. Pre-order it right here.


Follow Battles on their socials:

Facebook    Twitter    Instagram    YouTube

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *