Connect with us


Big Thief announce new alum ‘U.F.O.F.,’ share title track



Big Thief made an impact when they came seemingly out of nowhere to release their debut album Masterpiece back in 2016. As their profile grew over the course of just a few months, the band opted to just keep barreling forward, dropping their sophomore album Capacity just a year later. And then last year, Big Thief lead singer Adrianne Lenker releases her new solo album abysskiss. Each of these releases has shown how Lenker has evolved as a songwriter, quickly becoming one of the best working today. And although it’d be easy for the band or Lenker to take a break this year, they’ve decided to kick things up with the announcement of a new album.

Big Thief’s third studio album is titled U.F.O.F. and will be out May 3 via 4AD. It’ll be marking their debut for the label. Previously, the band have released their music on the great, smaller indie label Saddle Creek Records. Although the label has changed, the band remains very much the same, albeit evolved once again. All members are still around, as is producer Andrew Sarlo, who worked on their previous two albums. But this time out, the band are going for even more experimentation and raw energy than before.

In a press release, Adrianne Lenker shared these words about U.F.O.F.:

”Making friends with the unknown… All my songs are about this. If the nature of life is change and impermanence, I’d rather be uncomfortably awake in that truth then lost in denial.”

To get a taste of what Lenker is grasping at here, check out the lead single and title track right down below (it’s a real good one). Beyond that you’ll find the album art and tracklist for U.F.O.F.

01 Contact
03 Cattails
04 From
05 Open Desert
06 Orange
07 Century
08 Strange
09 Betsy
10 Terminal Paradise
11 Jenni
12 Magic Dealer

And in addition to all this news, the band have also announced a wide-spanning list of tour dates. Check out the full list of dates right here.

Pre-order U.F.O.F. here.


Follow Big Thief on their socials:

Facebook   Twitter   Instagram   YouTube

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Drunk and Vocal podcast