Connect with us
I'll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to The VelvetUNDERGROUND & NICO I'll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to The VelvetUNDERGROUND & NICO

National Music

Kurt Vile releases single off Velvet Underground tribute album



Verve Records, the record label The Velvet Underground originally released their albums on, is releasing a tribute album of Velvet Underground songs on September 24.

The first single off this album is a Kurt Vile & The Violators cover of the song “Run Run Run.”

Vile said this of the single on his social media:

I literally covered “Run Run Run” when I was a kid. In my late teens with my band at the time. So it was pretty cosmic, let’s say. There is a direct connection to certain indie bands and beyond w/ the Velvets.  That’s why the Velvets are a classic. You know it can have doo-wop in there and things like that, but it can also have this jagged noisy thing, and it immediately let me feel like I could do anything. The possibilities are endless.  You’re completely free. Unapologetic and effortless.

Check out the music video:

Check out the track list for I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to The Velvet Underground & Nico

Track list:
1. “Sunday Morning” – Michael Stipe
2. “I’m Waiting For The Man” – Matt Berninger
3. “Femme Fatale” – Sharon Van Etten
4. “Venus In Furs” – Andrew Bird & Lucius
5. “Run Run Run” – Kurt Vile & The Violators
6. “All Tomorrow’s Parties” – St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett
7. “Heroin” – Thurston Moore & Bobby Gillespie
8. “There She Goes Again” – King Princess
9. “I’ll Be Your Mirror” – Courtney Barnett

Stream “Run Run Run” here

Follow Kurt Vile on his socials:

Instagram   Twitter   Facebook

Drunk and Vocal podcast