Connect with us


Mac Demarco announces new album ‘Here Comes The Cowboy,’ shares new song “Nobody”



Last year, Mac Demarco announced that he had started his very own record label, aptly titled Mac’s Record Label. At the time, the label hadn’t signed anyone new or announced any plans for albums to be released through them. But the speculation of course was that Mac had some new material ready to go. It took some time, but now that’s proven true. For today Mac Demarco announced a new album titled Here Comes The CowboyIt’ll be out May 10, ushering in the true start for his label.

Here Comes The Cowboy will be headed our way almost exactly two years since the release of his last studio LP This Old Dog. The new album will be his fourth overall full-length record. In addition to the news, Demarco has dropped the album’s lead single “Nobody” along with a creepy little music video. And if all these words kinda sound familiar, you’ve got a good eye. Last year, the great Mitski dropped her newest album titled Be The Cowboy, where one of the singles was also titled “Nobody.” But although the internet was quick to force a feud between Demarco and Mitski, there is no such thing. Mitksi has already taken to Twitter today to clear things up, saying:

“haha! I’m 100% sure mac & I just went fishing in the same part of the collective unconscious! What’s wild is we have the same PR, so I LOVE my personal conspiracy theory that she heard the album+track titles but kept quiet thinking maybe some Mac fans will mistakenly find me loll. Anyway thanks for the laugh, Mac! Happy release! my god, why is everyone mad? i’m laughing!”

Mac hasn’t said anything about the parallels between the two albums, but he has shared a few thoughts about the album’s title and possible themes:

“This one is my cowboy record. Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up, there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren’t the people I’m referring to.”

Check out the video for “Nobody” right below here. Beyond that, take a look at the album art and tracklist for Here Comes The Cowboy.

01 Here Comes the Cowboy
02 Finally Alone
03 Little Dogs March
04 Preoccupied
06 Choo Choo
07 K
08 Heart to Heart
09 Hey Cowgirl
10 On the Square
11 All of Our Yesterdays
12 Skyless Moon
13 Baby Bye Bye

Additionally, Mac Demarco has announced a handful of new tour dates that start up next month. For all dates and more information head here.

Pre-order Here Comes The Cowboy right here.


Follow Mac Demarco on his socials:

Facebook  Instagram  YouTube

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Drunk and Vocal podcast